application to tvet colleges

application to tvet colleges

application to tvet colleges

In South Africa, there are 52 certified public Tvet colleges. Between 2019 and 2020, the Department of Higher Education and Training has made it possible to reach a target of 1 238 000 students in TVET Colleges. Tvet Colleges are now enrolling a large number of South Africans, indicating that they are still in their early stages of development.

The title ‘Technical and Vocational Education and Training’ alludes to the vocational or occupational nature of the programmes, implying that they are designed to educate students for a specific job, a variety of career opportunities, or self-employment. TVET colleges primarily educate young people in order to gain the skills, information, and attitudes required in the workplace.
They help students who wish to enrol in vocational courses after Grade 9 or after graduating from high school with a Grade 12, as well as students who want to finish their education.

Requirements for NSFAS funding for TVET students

  • Must be a South African citizen
  • Registered or intending to register at any public TVET
  • Must be in need of financial assistance
  • Household income of less than R350, 000 per year

read here applications for tvet colleges

List of colleges funded by NSFAS below:

  1. Buffalo City TVET College
  2. East Cape Midlands TVET College
  3. Ikhala TVET College
  4. Ingwe TVET College
  5. King Hintsa TVET College
  6. King Sabatha Dalindyebo TVET College
  7. Lovedale TVET College
  8. Port Elizabeth TVET College
  9. Boland TVET College
  10. College of Cape Town
  11. False Bay TVET College
  12. Northlink TVET College
  13. South Cape TVET College
  14. West Coast TVET College
  15. Northern Cape Rural TVET College
  16. Northern Cape Urban TVET College
  17. Flavius Mareka TVET College
  18. Goldsfields TVET College
  19. Maluti TVET College
  20. Motheo TVET College
  21. Coastal KZN TVET College
  22. Elangeni TVET College
  23. Esayidi TVET College
  24. Majuba TVET College
  25. Mnambithi TVET College
  26. Mthashana TVET College
  27. Thekwini TVET College
  28. Umfolozi TVET College
  29. Umgugundlovu TVET College
  30. Orbit TVET College
  31. Taletso TVET College
  32. Vuselela TVET College
  33. Central Johannesburg TVET College
  34. Ekurhuleni East TVET College
  35. Ekurhuleni West TVET College
  36. Sedibeng TVET College
  37. South West Gauteng TVET College
  38. Tshwane North TVET College
  39. Tshwane South TVET College
  40. Western College for TVET
  41. Ehlanzeni TVET College
  42. Gert Sibande TVET College
  43. Nkangala TVET College
  44. Capricorn TVET College
  45. Lephalale TVET College
  46. Letaba TVET College
  47. Mopani South East TVET College
  48. Sekhukhune TVET College
  49. Vhembe TVET College
  50. Waterberg TVET College


NSFAS TVET Bursary includes:

  • Registration fees
  • Tuition fees
  • Personal care allowance of R29 000 per year
  •  Transport allowance of R7 000 per year
  • Accommodation Allowance
  • Rural area is R15 750 per year
  • Urban area is R24 000 per year
  •  Peri-urban area is R18 900 per year


How and where to apply

You can apply online using a cellphone, tablet or computer. Follow these simple steps to apply:

Step 1: Go to and click on the “myNSFAS” tab

Step 2: Create a myNSFAS account

Step 3: Click on the “APPLY” tab and answer the questions on the screen

Step 4: Upload the required supporting documents then click on “submit”.

After you click on “submit”, your application reference number will appear on the screen. The reference number will also be sent to the cellphone number and email address you provided.

Find out if a college you are interested in is funded by nsfas by clicking here.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.