Tvet college matric upgrade

Tvet college matric upgrade

Tvet college matric upgrade

Tvet college matric upgrade

Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET) Colleges are educational institutions where students receive education and training with a view towards a specific range of jobs, employment or entrepreneurial possibilities. After completing a qualification at a TVET College, students might qualify for admission to a University of Technology to continue their studies at a higher level in the same field of study.

TVET Colleges offer an opportunity to complete matric to people who have completed Grade 9 and there is usually no age restriction. You can receive a National Vocational Certificate (NCV) on Levels 2,3 and 4 which are equivalent to Grades 10, 11 and 12.

So if you are looking to complete matric you will just have to obtain an NCV Level 4 at a TVET College, which is on the same academic level as a Matric Certificate.

The emphasis for an NCV qualification is however on technical skills.

Those wanting to redo Matric would normally only be able to register for the subjects that they have failed before or have done before and want to improve; in other words, you cannot replace one subject with another.

In this case, the student would have to contact the relevant TVET College and enquire about their options for redoing matric. Some TVET Colleges even offer the chance to redo Matric, either part-time or full-time.


However, all students will be required to submit the following

  • A certificate of Good Conduct, from their previous institutions of learning or place of work
  • A certified copy of the last school report original must be presented on the application
  • 8 certified copies of ID (where a student is 16 years or older) original must be presented on the application
  • Parents or guardians must accompany the Applicant in order to verify the correctness of personal details being given, in the case where students are a minor or where the parent or guardian is providing the financial support.

Students will be selected according to their potential ability based on their highest qualifications and other relevant factors to successfully complete the course. Students who transfer from another TVET College must submit the following:

  • A letter to confirm that they have been de-registered at the previous institution
  • A Certified copy of Identity Document
  • A report of their academic history on a College letterhead, including Internal Continuous
  • Assessment (ICASS) and Integrated Summative Assessment (ISAT) results
  • The student’s Portfolios of Evidence for all subjects from the previous institution, if transferring during an academic year.
  • Competency Tests – NCV

The purpose of the competency test is to ensure that the student is placed in a programme best suited to his/her ability. A competency test must be completed by the student to determine his/her proficiency in English as it is the medium of instruction in the College. Competency tests are prescribed by the National Department of Education and Training as a requirement for admission and it is important that these be conducted in the best interests of students and the College.

read here Tvet colleges offering hospitality

Competency tests are also completed in the following subjects:

  • Mathematical Literacy
  • Vocational subjects, in specialised fields

Students who are not successful in the competency test will be directed towards other study options.

Signed application form by the Student

  • Correct parent/guardian details must be provided and verified at the time of registration. Upon verification, if falsified information is given on the application form, the application will be cancelled and the student/parent/guardian will be held liable for any costs incurred. If a student fails to comply with the above, the College Council has the right to cancel such registration.


It is one thing to qualify for Admission to TVET colleges and another thing to know exactly which course to apply for. TVET colleges offer an extremely wide range of vocational courses, preparing students for a number of careers. There are four main types of qualifications offered at TVET colleges:

  1. The National Certificate Vocational qualifications
  2. The Report 191 Programmes,
  3. The National Introductory Certificate (N4) and National Certificates (N4).

1. National Certificate Vocational (NCV) programmes

National Certificate Vocational (NCV) programmes begin after grade 9 and are typically three-year programmes that take you from an NQF level 2 qualification (grade 9) to an NQF level 4 qualification. This is the same level as a traditional matric, which means that you are able to apply to study at most universities of technology and to some university courses.

NC(V) programmes consist of seven subjects, two recognised languages, one mathematical subject, life orientation and three elective subjects. The elective subjects are where most of the specialised education and training will take place. Once you have completed an NC(V) qualification, you are able to work in your field as a qualified professional or study further towards a higher certificate, national diploma or bachelor of technology degree.

The following NC(V) qualifications are offered by TVET colleges:

  • Electrical Infrastructure Construction
  • Civil Engineering and Building Construction
  • Education and Development
  • Engineering and Related Design
  • Drawing Office Practice
  • Hospitality
  • Tourism
  • Information Technology and Computer Science
  • Management
  • Office Administration
  • Finance, Economics and Accounting
  • Marketing
  • Mechatronics
  • Primary Agriculture
  • Primary Health
  • Process Instrumentation
  • Safety in Society
  • Process Plant Operations

read here Tvet colleges courses


tvet colleges around mpumalanga
qualifications for tvet colleges
tvet colleges closing dates
tvet colleges limpopo.
how many tvet colleges are there in limpopo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.