Tvet colleges offering hospitality

Tvet colleges offering hospitality

Tvet colleges offering hospitality

Tvet colleges offering hospitality



What is the National Certificate (Hospitality Qualification) programme?

The National Certificate (Hospitality) is a programme at each of levels 2, 3 and 4 of the NQF. This programme is designed to provide both the theory and practice of Hospitality. The practical component of the study may be offered in a real workplace or in a simulated workplace environment. It will provide students with an opportunity to experience work situations during the period of study.



Catering: Theory and Practical
Applied Management
Sanitation and Housekeeping
Nutrition and Menu Planning


Grade 12 certificate


Catering: Theory and Practical
Applied Management
Food and Beverage Services
Entrepreneurship and Business Management N4


N4 Level in the specific programme


6 months



Catering: Theory and Practical
Communication and Human Relations
Applied Management
Computer Practice N4


N5 Level in the specific programme


6 months


Boland TVET College
College of Cape Town
False Bay TVET College
Northlink TVET College
South Cape TVET College
West Coast TVET College

Central Johannesburg TVET College
Ekurhuleni East TVET College
Ekurhuleni West TVET College
Sedibeng TVET College
South West Gauteng TVET College
Tshwane North TVET College
Tshwane South TVET College
Western TVET College

Coastal TVET College
Elangeni TVET College
Esayidi TVET College
Majuba TVET College
Mnambithi TVET College
Mthashana TVET College
Thekwini TVET College
Umfolozi TVET College
Umgungundlovu TVET College

read here Tvet colleges courses

What are the minimum entry requirements to the programme?

For entry into the National Certificate (Hospitality) at NQF Level 2, you require:

  • A year-end school report for grade 9, 10, 11 or 12 certificates; or
  • An NQF Level 1 qualification; or
  • An approved bridging programme designed for the specific purpose to access NQF Level 2; or
  • A Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) assessment to meet the basic requirements for access to NQF Level 2.

How long is the qualification?

The National Certificate (Hospitality) programme is a full-year programme at each of the NQF levels of study. A student is issued with a certificate on the successful completion of each level of study, that is Level 2, Level 3 and Level 4.

Which subjects make up a National Certificate (Hospitality)?

In order to obtain a National Certificate (Hospitality), a student is required to take a total of 7 subjects. These include 3 fundamental subjects and 4 vocational subjects.

Which are the fundamental subjects?

  • First additional language ā€“ which must be the language of teaching and learning;
  • Mathematics or Mathematical Literacy; and
  • Life Orientation.

The vocational subjects in Hospitality are:

  • Food Preparation
  • Hospitality Generics
  • Hospitality Services
  • Client Services and Human Relations

The holder of the National Certificate (Hospitality) will be able to:

  • Manage a guest house
  • Deal with client services in an accommodation facility
  • Work as an assistant cook /chef preparing food in a restaurant, hotel, or guesthouse
  • Work as waitron
  • Work as a housekeeper in a hotel, inn, hospital, guest house, etc.

The National Certificate (Hospitality) provides an opportunity to access careers in any of the sectors listed below.

  • Housekeeping
  • Food and Beverage Management
  • Hotel Management
  • Accommodation Services
  • Events Management.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.