What does tvet colleges offer

What does tvet colleges offer

What does tvet colleges offer

What does tvet colleges offer

TVET colleges offer different types of career-focused vocational programmes designed specifically to prepare young people to enter the labour market or to become entrepreneurs who start and run their own businesses. Once people become active in the labour market, a range of other career opportunities open up. Many careers will require college graduates to complete additional qualifications. Some public TVET colleges offer up to 300 different courses.

Programmes are offered in many fields, such as agriculture, arts and culture, business, building construction, commerce and management, education and training, engineering, manufacturing, technology, security and services. The courses vary in duration from short courses of a few hours to formal diploma courses of three years. Most courses require full-time attendance of classes, although some courses are offered via distance learning or through blended learning that combines attendance, electronic delivery and self-study.

The colleges mainly offer courses on Levels 1 to 4 on the National Qualifications Framework (NQF), although some colleges offer Higher Certificates on Level 5 with 120 credits.

The two main courses offered by TVET colleges are:

  • National Certificate (Vocational) qualifications, the NC (V), and

TVET colleges offer the following additional qualifications and programmes:

  • Selected UNISA and other qualifications registered on the NQF,
  • Occupational work-integrated programmes: learnerships and apprenticeships, as well as trade tests,
  • Skills programmes and non-formal short courses, and

The above-mentioned qualifications and programmes are described in separate sections below.

SAQA registers qualifications in a prescribed format on the National Qualifications Framework (NQF) against a Level that indicates the level of complexity of learning. The articulation of qualifications across the NQF enables learners to progress through the ten NQF levels in individual learning pathways. The levels of qualifications are indicated in the table below.

Level 1 General Certificate (Grade 9)
Level 4 National Senior Certificate (Grade 12)
Level 5 Higher Certificate
Level 6 Advanced Certificate
Level 7 Advanced Diploma
Bachelor’s Degree (360 credits)
Level 8 Bachelor’s Degree (480 credits)
Bachelor Honours Degree
Post-Graduate Diploma
Level 9 Master’s Degree
Level 10 Doctorate (PhD)

Qualifications on the National Qualifications Framework

The table below depicts the types of qualifications on the different levels of the NQF.

Levels Band Qualification type School ABET NCV NATED OC Providers Qualifications
10 HET Doctoral Degree (professional) University Degrees
9 Master’s degree (professional)
8 Bachelor honours
OC 8 Diplomas
Postgraduate diploma
7 Bachelor’s degree OC 7
Advanced diploma
6 Diploma & Advanced certificate OC 6 Certificates
5 Higher certificate N4-N6 OC 5 TVET
4 FET National certificate Grade 12 NCV 4 N3 OC 4
3 Grade 11 NCV 3 N2 OC 2
2 Grade 10 NCV 2 N1 OC 1
1 GET General certificate Grade 9 Level 4 ABET Centres
Grade 7 Level 3
Grade 5 Level 2
Grade 3 Level 1



False Bay TVET College admission requirements 2023-2024

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.